The area was at one time known as 'Tivoli' from the Hotel that stood at the junction. Other names were Salver Hill.
There was a farm in the area, High Ridge Farm in the 18th century, this changing its name to Silverhill Farm by 1815 to avoid confusion with the similarly named farm on The Ridge. Tenants known to have been associated with the farm are John Standen, the farm remaining in this family until 1842 when a Francis Smith purchased the farm. The area was also home to a pottery, this opening in 1838 and consisted of a large open shed containing a round kiln which produced roof tiles and chimney pots. The pottery possibly gave rise to the name of Pottery Cottages in the area. From around 1840, this pottery was owned by Fred Tree. One of his artistic potters named John Pelling who was foreman in 1846 and purchased the pottery around 1851, marrying Fred's daughter, Polly. He became known for a unique style of rustic pottery bearing a wood-bark design.
In more recent times, the area has become a local shopping hub with many businesses located along Sedlescombe Road North, which, despite the destruction of a number of properties during WW2 leading to the front gardens of many of the buildings in the lower part of the road being incorporated into larger, retail premises. A number of public houses also were in the district for much of the areas population. The arrival of Asda on Battle Road in 2010 possibly led to a number of the small, independent, shops closing and becoming vacant.
The area of the pedestrian crossings (where the palm trees etc are located) is above what used to be an underground gents toilet, this later relocated to the junction of Sedlescombe Road South and London Road, finally closing around 2000.
Pages in category ‘Silverhill’
The following 30 pages are in this category, out of 30 total.